# REALIGNMENT HISTORY OF THE CAPITAL VALLEY CONFERENCE

### SCHOOLS WHO HAVE BEEN MEMBERS OF THE CVC:

Bella Vista Antelope Casa Roble Center Christian Brothers Cosumnes Oaks Del Campo Dixon El Camino El Dorado Elk Grove Encina Highlands Foothill Galt Inderkum lesuit Kern Jr. High La Sierra Loretto Mesa Verde Mira Loma Natomas Oakmont Rio Americano Pioneer Ponderosa Rio Linda River City River Valley Roseville Rutter Jr High San Juan Vanden West Campus Valley Whitney Woodcreek Yuba City

### **1960**

The League was established in 1960. Original members of the conference were all part of the San Juan Unified School District.

Original Schools

El Camino

Encina

La Sierra

San Juan

Mira Loma

These schools entered the league as they opened, eventually expanding the league to ten teams. They included:

Bella Vista

Del Campo

Rio Americano

Mesa Verde

Casa Robles

### 1976

Realignment effected the CVC for the first time. The shared cost of travel was the primary reason for breaking up the original league. Half the schools in the CVC were placed into a newly formed league and called the Capital Athletic League. Elk Grove and Loretto became the first schools outside the San Juan Unified School District to be part of the league.

Membership then included:

El Camino

Elk Grove

Encina Loretto Mesa Verde Mira Loma Rio Americano

Kerr and Rutter Junior High schools were part of the league but only in freshman sports.

# <u> 1978</u>

Valley was added to the League.

Membership then included:

El Camino

Elk Grove

Encina

Loretto

Mesa Verde

Mira Loma

Rio Americano

Valley

# <u> 1980</u>

Loretto reassigned to another League. Rutter and Kerr were absorbed by Elk Grove.

Membership then included:

El Camino

Elk Grove

Encina

Mesa Verde

Mira Loma

Rio Americano

Valley

# 1982

Foothill, Eldorado and Ponderosa added to league. Mesa Verde, Valley and Elk Grove were reassigned.

Membership then included:

El Camino

El Dorado

Encina

Foothill

Mira Loma

Ponderosa

Rio Americano

# <u> 1988</u>

Highlands, Jesuit, Oakmont, Roseville and Loretto added to League. Foothill, Encina and Ponderosa taken out.

Membership then included:

El Camino

El Dorado

Highlands

Jesuit

Loretto

Mira Loma

Rio Americano

Roseville

Oakmont

### 1990

Foothill was added to the league. El Camino and El Dorado taken out.

Membership then included:

Foothill

Highlands

Jesuit

Loretto

Mira Loma

Oakmont

Rio Americano

Roseville

### <u> 1994</u>

Rio Linda, Center, Woodcreek, Galt and San Juan were added. Roseville, Oakmont, Jesuit and Loretto were reassigned.

Membership then included:

Center

Foothill

Galt

Highlands

Mira Loma

Rio Americano

Rio Linda

San Juan

Woodcreek

### 1996

Galt and Woodcreek were removed from the league. Natomas was added.

Membership then included:

Center

Foothill

Highlands

Mira Loma

Natomas Rio Americano Rio Linda San Juan

## **1998**

Vanden was added to the league for Football only. Rio Americano was reassigned.

Membership then included:

Center

Foothill

Highlands

Mira Loma

**Natomas** 

Rio Linda

San Juan

Vanden

San Juan

### 2000

San Juan was removed from the league and Loretto was added. Vanden was reassigned to its regular league for football.

Membership then included:

Center

Foothill

Highlands

Loretto

Mira Loma

Natomas

Rio Linda

### 2002

A major realignment occurred throughout the section. Mira Loma was the last of the original teams in the CVC. When they were reassigned, none of the original teams remained in the league. As composed for the 2002-03 school year, Dixon, Vanden, River City were added along with a new school to be constructed in Woodland. Mira Loma, Loretto and Natomas were assigned new leagues.

The realignment cycle will be in effect for four years instead of two which was the practice.

Membership then included:

Center

Dixon

Foothill

Highlands

Rio Linda

River City

Vanden

Pioneer

### 2003

Pioneer was removed from the league and assigned to the Golden Empire League

Membership then included:

Center

Dixon

Foothill

Highlands

Rio Linda

River City

Vanden

Pioneer

### 2006

Highlands was reassigned to the Golden Empire League, Vanden to the Monticello Empire League and West Campus was placed into the league. The CVC was downgraded from a Division III league to a Division IV League.

Membership then included:

Center

Dixon

Foothill

Rio Linda

River City

West Campus

# <u> 2008</u>

Two brand new schools opened and both placed into the CVC. Antelope of the Roseville District and Cosumnes Oaks of the Elk Grove District were added. Both schools were composed of freshmen and sophomores and they competed in very few varsity sports.

Membership then included:

Antelope

Center

Cosumnes Oaks

Dixon

Foothill

Rio Linda

River City

West Campus

### 2010

The Capital Valley Conference had the most severe adjustment in the history of the Sac Joaquin Section. Seven of the eight schools were placed in other conferences and five new schools were assigned. The growth of the Section in terms of the number of new schools being built required a massive restructure to group like sized schools together. The CVC went from a Division-IV League

with schools ranging in population from about 600 students to a school with over 2,000 students. Additionally, the schools were not geographically close. The new league schools are much closer together in size and geography.

West Campus and Dixon were reassigned to the Golden Empire League. Antelope to the Capital Athletic Conference, River City and Cosumnes Oaks became members of the Sierra Valley Conference and Foothill and Center joined the Pioneer Valley Conference.

Bella Vista, Casa Roble and Del Campo from the CAL, Oakmont from the Sierra Foothill League and Christian Brothers from the SVC were the new additions to the league.

Membership then included:

Bella Vista Casa Roble Christian Brothers Del Campo Oakmont Rio Linda

### 2014

The Capital Valley Conference experienced another significant membership change. Three schools left the league and were reassigned to smaller leagues. Rio Linda to the Tri County Conference and Casa Roble and Christian Brothers to the Capital Athletic League.

Five schools were assigned to the league, making the league an eight-team league for the first time in several years. New schools included: Antelope, Cosumnes Oaks, Ponderosa, Roseville and Whitney. All these schools, with the exception of Whitney, had previously been members of the CVC.

Membership then included:

Antelope
Bella Vista
Cosumnes Oaks
Del Campo
Oakmont
Ponderosa
Roseville
Whitney

### 2018

For the third consecutive year, the CVC had a significant change to its membership. Four school left the league, Del Campo and Oakmont to the smaller CAL league, Whitney to the larger Sierra Foothill league, Cosumnes Oaks to the larger Delta League and Ponderosa to a new league.

Four schools came into the league, Woodcreek coming from the Division I SFL, and River Valley, Yuba City and Inderkum coming from the Division III Tri County League.

Membership then included:

Antelope Bella Vista

